The ancient astrologer/astronomer Ptolemy (83-161 C.E.),whose ideas of the structure of the universe (based upon spheres), dominated western civilization until Copernicus and Kepler in the 16th-17th centuries, associated different planets of the solar system with particular stages of life:

Moon:  Infancy – 0-4 years old

Mercury: Childhood – 4-14 years old

Venus:  Adolescence – 14-22 years old

The Sun:  Young Adulthood – 22-40 years old

Mars:  Mature Adulthood – 40-55 years old

Jupiter: Retirement and Wisdom – 55 to 67 years old

Saturn:  Old Age – 67+

Source:  Ceol agus Realta

For more information on human development theories in different cultures and traditions, see my book The Human Odyssey: Navigating the Twelve Stages of Life (Ixia Press, 2019)

This article was brought to you by Thomas Armstrong, Ph.D. and

Follow me on Twitter:  @Dr_Armstrong

Subscribe to my blog feed

Share This:
About the author

I’m the author of 20 books including my latest, a novel called Childless, which you can order from Amazon.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Article Archives