According to the ancient Romans, there are five stages of human development:

0-15 years – Pueritia – early childhood and latent period of early school years

15-25 – Adulescentia – puberty and adolescence

25-40 – Luventus – first adulthood

40-55 – Virilitas – second adulthood

55+ – Senectus – old age

For more about the stages of life in different traditions and cultures, see Thomas Armstrong, The Human Odyssey: Navigating the Twelve Stages of Life (Ixia Press, 2019)

This article was brought to you by Thomas Armstrong, Ph.D. and

Follow me on Twitter:  @Dr_Armstrong

Subscribe to my blog feed


Share This:
About the author

I’m the author of 20 books including my latest, a novel called Childless, which you can order from Amazon.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Article Archives